Teeth whitening trauma

Friday, August 30, 2013

For years I had considered having my teeth whitened, everyone seemed to be having it done and I was dying to wear a bright lipstick without feeling that it made my teeth glow yellow! Then one day I received my regular Groupon email and saw an offer on ‘Glow white’ teeth whitening for £30!
The info provided looked really impressive and professional so I went for it. As usual with these things they don’t disclose the name of address of where the procedure will take place, only the town it would be in.
When I confirmed my payment I was given the address and further info along with the name of the lady who would be doing the procedure. I looked at her website and again the info was really professional.

All excited about my new white teeth and thinking about which shade of lipstick would by on the way home, I set off. Now obviously when we got to the street I was looking out for a beauty salon or some kind of clinic but there was nothing but houses! We drove up and down the street a few times before I called the lady for directions and to my horror she gave me the same address I had and said to go to the house with the blue door and she would wait outside for me.
I couldn’t believe it, we were in the middle of a housing estate in front of a house that was far from inviting where I was supposed to be having my teeth done. Going inside was even worse, this was someone’s home! The lady lead me through her living room which looked like a she had never tidied up since moving in, past her husband having his dinner at the table and upstairs into her back bedroom! I have no idea why I didn’t run when I saw the house or even when I saw the living room and stepped over her dog to get up the stairs but what gets me most is that even when I was faced with a room that was empty apart from a sun longer (that looked like it had been rescued from a skip ) and some sort of lamp thingy, I still didn’t run!! What was I thinking, maybe I was just being polite! 
Anyway the lady sat me in the sun lounger and put a retainer in my mount before she started squeezing the gel onto my teeth out of a small tube. Once the gel was on she left me sat under the lamp for what seemed like an eternity while she went to have her tea! She repeated this three times and by the third go my teeth were extremely sensitive , it even hurt to breath as I got a ‘zinging’ sensation each time I took a breath in, I was nearly crying in agony when she eventually came back in ( as she had disappeared again may be to watch TV or something and left me their alone!).
Finally it was over and she gave me a mirror to see the final results, but instead of looking at my new pearly white teeth I was looking at my gums which were covered in white speckles and my teeth didn’t look any different! Other than looking very matte and speckled (apparently this is normal), in fact my front two teeth looked like they had a white line going across them. I was so devastated but the lady just kept telling my the white marks on my gums would fade and then my teeth would look whiter in a few hours!! I couldn’t even muster up the energy to argue with her I just wanted to get out of that box room, get in my car and go!!

For the next 2-3 days I suffered with the worst tooth ache ever with horribly sensitive teeth.
I learnt a few thing from this experience.
1.       Don’t trust just anyone to perform procedures like this go to a dentist or someone that specialises in teeth whitening!

2.       The expression ‘ Don’t judge a book by it’s cover’ is true for most things in life however in situations like this if you don’t feel comfortable in your surroundings then leave! often the quality of the environment you are in is often a good indication of the quality of the treatment you are about to receive, DON’T TAKE THE RISK!!

3.       If something seems too good to be true then it most likely is. At the end of the day you get what you pay for.
I later had the procedure redone by a dentist costing £300 and it was a much nicer experience with much better results.
Don’t get me wrong sensitivity is a side effect of the treatment but it was no where near as painful as the first time and the dentist was always there reassuring me unlike the lady that went off to have her tea!!

Anyone else out there had a similar experience?
Toodle-oo

Lisa xx

You Might Also Like

22 comments

  1. Omg! I'm so sorry about what happened to you !!! Thanks for sharing this experience! You would think Groupon would at least screen their sponsors! I'll make sure to be much more cautious next time I get anything from Groupon!

    Lynn | Makeup With Tea

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds awful, so sorry to hear about your horrible experience. You should definitely feed this back to Groupon (if you haven't already done so) to help prevent someone going through the same thing.

    Glad to hear you had a better experience when you went to the dentist to get them done and hope you're happy with the results!

    Ex | Rare Ribbon

    ReplyDelete
  3. Wow you should complain to Groupon! That just isn't right!! I am very self conscious of my teeth and would love them to be a couple of shades whiter!! However if I ever do I think Ill pay a lot for them from learning from your story, can't imagine the pain :/

    Katie xx | Katies World

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes me too should have known it was too good to be true Lx

      Delete
  4. omg what a scary experience!!
    I am currently trying out the crest whitening strips, I used them years ago and got good results, under MY control for a very low price.
    I can't believe that lady is getting away with doing that to people!
    This was really interesting to read!

    laurathinksabout.blogspot.co.uk

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have just bought some of them hope they work Cx

      Delete
  5. Oh my word, I'm so sorry for what you had to go through, it sounds just awful.

    I really do think that you were tricked into this bad situation and surely you have grounds to complain? What happened to you wasn't right and even though you got it all sorted out in the end, it doesn't make what happened to you ok.

    Thanks for sharing your story, this may well stop other people from going through the same thing. xx

    The Miss Beauty Saver Blog

    ReplyDelete
  6. Aw.... it's so sad to hear about your first experience, I have wanted do that with my teeth for a long time now too... Guess I should just save my money and go to a dentist.

    http://www.gwiyomistyle.net/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Definitely save for a dentist hunny its worth it x

      Delete
  7. oh god that sounds awful, poor you!!

    http://thenetdoll.blogspot.co.uk/

    xo

    ReplyDelete
  8. OMG poor thing. This kind of treatments should be done only with a professional, be careful sweetie. It was good that you shared your story with all, like that people will be aware.
    take care and keep in touch

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. She will have probably been on s half a day course or something , terrible! Lx

      Delete
  9. OMG this is terrible! You poor thing! You should complain to Groupon and some local authority or consumer watchdog. It's horrendous, I bet they didn't even have a licence to do that. You shouldn't let such dodgy people get away with taking consumers for a ride.
    My Beauty Junction

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I left a review and the lady offered for me to gp back and have it redone!! I was like ..'as if i would put myself through that again!'
      Lx

      Delete
  10. Omgg that sounds awful! Groupon should check out the deals they're actually offering before actually letting people pay for them! Glad there was no serious lasting damage to your teeth though
    Meg xx (new follower)

    peachpips.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thats exactly what i said im my review i left them tgey should be more careful who they accept!

      Lx

      Delete
  11. Its really a very useful post for them who had done their Teeth whitening trauma.... just while for a beautiful....teeth.

    teeth whitening reading & teeth whitening hemel hempstead

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for reading
I read all of my comments and am grateful for each and every one

Lots of Love

Carrieanne xx

Popular Posts

Like us on Facebook

Flickr Images


Follow on Bloglovin
view sourceprint? 01 09 10